May 24, 2008

  • Almost, But Never Enough

    Memorial Day weekend is here, which means a four day work week for many of us. Despite the fact that I'm on a so-called 'temporary' assignment, it seems as if I'd been working for years at this company. I don't mean this in a a negative way mind you; I seem to have adjusted quite well to these new surroundings. The work I do isn't hard, everyone there is pretty amiable and there isn't the slightest hint of office drama/politics anywhere. In spite of all of this, the fact that Monday is a holiday and I don't have to go to work makes me happy. I'm sure it makes you happy too. Which brings me to a few comments on things that have been going through my mind these past few months.

    In high school and college they tell you that you need to work hard so that when you graduate you'll be able to attend a good college/get a good job. Then what? What does life truly hold for us once the school bell rings for that final time? I don't think our teachers/professors really knew how to prepare us for that phase of our lives, and to be honest they really can't. We all want different things out of life, and to streamline a modus operandi for accomplishing this would be impossible. Therefore it is up to us to figure that one out. And here's where the potential for breakdown occurs.

    On graduation day we are all smiles and full of 'HFTF' (Hope For The Future). But soon after, reality sets in and all of a sudden the floor drops from right underneath us. Though I really shouldn't generalize, because some of us go on to grad, medical school, waltz into a job immediately etc. The rest of us though, well, what exactly? The big question mark starting at us in the face seems ever present, despite efforts to figure it all out. It doesn't seem fair. But then we land something, and we're happy again. And still, many of us are unhappy, or at the very least unsatisfied with the way life has become. It's like we wake up one morning and realize that this is how it's going to be from now until retirement/death. Work, work and more work. It's why I think the prospect of the three-day weekend, or vacation time is so succulent to people in this situation. They're looking for something more; something they can't truly get from working a 9-5, even if it's a job they love. And statistics very often show that many people are not satisfied with their jobs. So what alternative is there? The world revolves around money; if you don't work, you don't get it. Of course there are alternative ways to getting money, but those tends to either lead to prison or hasten one's death. Which means for those who chose to live an honest life, and are not blessed with having been born with the so-called silver spoon, we have to work and work hard.

    I wish it weren't like that for us in society. It drives a line through the social classes, causing resentment and unnecessary hatred and jealousy. Why can't we all do what we truly want to do and make a decent living at it? Think of everyone who's trying to become actors, writers, entertainers but typically abandon their dreams because it's become impossible for them to acheive them. Then think about how few succeed in these fields, and how many laudations they are given (not to say that some aren't deserving of them) and how it must make those who failed feel.

    I guess what I'm trying to say is that I wish I grew up with a more realist perspective around me rather than the "you-can-acheive-anything-you-want-if-you-work-hard" crock of bullshit that I and many people from my generation were fed, because it's simply not true. There are many, mant talented, hard-working people out there who honestly want to be successful but through no fault of their own, simply cannot do so; I even know some of them personally. And they all, for lack of a better expression, sing the same tune: that life is never black or white, but just a horrible shade of grey.

    Hmm...perhaps I came off a bit bitter in this one. But it's something that been in my head, and getting it out was a bit theraputic. Methinks I should do this more often

    "There's a time when you have to separate yourself from what other people expect of you, and do what you love. Because if you find yourself 50 years old and you aren't doing what you love, then what's the point?"

    --- Jim Carrey

                                                                                                                  SEE YOU SPACE COWBOY...                                                                                                     

Comments (1)

  • See, that wasn't so bad, now was it? It's good to see you blogging again. I don't think you were biter, but the college to career transition is so hard on so many different levels. I'm still not through accepting it yet.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment