July 27, 2013

  • This Is The End, Beautiful Friend

    Xanga.

    A place where I opined about almost every aspect of my late-teens to mid-twenties.

    Now a relic of a bygone era, an era pre-Facebook, Twitter, and the explosion of social media sites that make self-expression seamless.

    In truth, I all but forgot about this place, until I caught wind of its possible closure. And when I did, and took a look at my entries, the memories flooded like waves on Floridian shores. I can’t believe I have a written record of my thoughts from as long as a decade ago, when I was just a senior in high school. I’ve come a long way since then. Life has been nothing short of crazy, with each experience making me more malleable in order to keep up with the times. 

    I hope Xanga endures, if only because it’s one of the few remaining sites on the internet that have been around since my youth. I’m a sucker for nostalgia you see, and every taste I get leaves me yearning for (sometimes) better days. But if it doesn’t then I will say only this: Xanga, thank you for providing me with a platform to speak my mind (however immature or naive I was about it) because I now have a timeline of my growth through the words I have written down.

    To everyone that bothered to read and comment, I thank you. You are the Internet’s class act of bloggers in my opinion and you have my gratitude for putting up with my sometimes endless rambling and stream-of-consciousness babble, not to mention the often cryptic and angst-ridden entry hidden in song lyrics. silly

    I hope to make a new blog one day, and when I do, I hope I can have a similar experience there as I’ve had here. It’s been one for the record books.

    If you’re on Twitter and would like to continue following me in 140 characters or less, I am “at” swordmalice.

    And of course, as always….

    SEE YOU SPACE COWBOY

                                                                                                                   

    YOU’RE GONNA CARRY THAT WEIGHT

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *