Month: February 2010

  • Murphy's Law: At It's Finest

    Well my first post of 2010 happens to be a somber one. In a striking similarity to a period of time I endured last year, I must yet again deal with the loss of a job, and a personal piece of electronic equipment.

    Since November of last year I'd been working at a non-profit agency called MDRC as a temp in the Finance department. It was a great position, one I'd grown quite accustomed to. But my last day was Friday, and with nothing coming down the pipeline I'm back to job hunting. To add insult to injury, my Playstation 3 suddenly decided to crap out on me, requiring it to be sent back for repairs. Which wouldn't be something to be upset about ordinarily, but because of a new trend among video game developers to copy protect save data of games, I am guaranteed to lose save data for two games that I own despite backing up the entire system of my PS3; one of which,  Bayonetta, I was only 2-3 hours away from completing all Achievements. This equates to around a combined total of about 100 hours in gaming thrown away, leaving me to start from scratch when I receive my new system. If that weren't bad enough, I will expect to be sans PS3 for almost a month, during which time I will not be able to play certain must have titles slated to drop in March, mainly God of War 3 and Final Fantasy XIII

    I don't think bad luck exists, but I am very tempted to change that train of thought. I don't know what I did to deserve this sometimes. If anyone has any idea on how I can feel better about all this, I'm more than willing to listen. It's going to be a rough few weeks ahead for me.

    Hell of a way to start 2010. I can't wait to see what will happen next.