Month: June 2009

  • AnimeNext 2009

    Year number four, and AnimeNext proved once again to be quite the enjoyable experience. Unlike last year where I attended 2 out of the three days the con runs for, this year I went for only one day, yesterday. But it was made even more enjoyable for the fact that I had my first cosplay! A relatively easy cosplay mind you, but a cosplay nevertheless. I went as Louis from Valve's co-op shooting game Left 4 Dead (as soon as I get my hands on some pictures I'll upload them). The group I went with this year was a little smaller due to extenuating circumstances with several of my friends but it was still a great deal of fun. My buddy Eric went as Dan Hibiki, the awesome joke character of the Street Fighter series and my other friend Anna went as Chun-li of the same series. I must say I had to get used to people recognizing me and asking to pose for pictures but it comes with the territory and I'd be lying if I said I didn't enjoy the attention. Many complimented me on the cosplay as well so I think I'm off to a good start. For the most part I spent the day at the game room and the dealer's room, which is outside the norm of my usual con-going routine but it was worth it. The gaming competition was heavy, as I was quickly eliminated from both the Guilty Gear (lost to a Slayer who chained Big Bang Upper) and the Street Fighter 4 tournaments (lost to a Honda who is one of Cammy's worst matchups). I got in some wins during the casuals though, so it wasn't all a loss. Sadly I didn't buy any loot this year, as my newfound unemployment is forcing me to really watch my wallet...but I'm hoping to land a job soon so that for my next con in September (New York Anime Fest) I'll be able to resume the usual geek-spending.

    I'll admit there were times where I wondered if I'd be able to keep doing this on a yearly basis, but on my train ride home to Brooklyn I met some con-goers who happened to live in my neighborhood and in talking with them, they reminded me of how I was when I was a con-going newbie (these kids were 17-18 and this con was their first). I was pretty much reminded of the excitement and joy I'd have spending time at a place alongside like-minded people as well as that feeling of belonging that accompanies it. So I guess it'll still be some time before I grow tired of the anime scene. Even if I have to drag my future wife and kids to cons, I will do it

    Well, back to the job hunt. Ja ne!

                                                                                                                SEE YOU SPACE COWBOY...