Month: August 2008

  • Good Day is Good

    Things these days may not make me as happy as I'd like to be right now, but yesterday was one of the few that gave me that little glimmer of hope that perhaps my situation will work out eventually.

    My friend Brian celebrated his 22nd birthday on Tuesday, and this weekend was the event to celebrate that. I started off heading to his apartment to play Guilty Gear with him and some others friend in the group who are into that kinda thing; Jon, Eric, Anna, PatricK, Chris....good times were had all around. I had some pretty intense fights; my Johnny took rounds but lost matches, and my Dizzy won a close one against Eric's powerful Hol Order Sol. Chris' Faust was tough as usual, and my main rival in Jon's Robo-Ky continued to test my patience lol. It was great though; we've all decided to get better at this game, which should mean that we'll be getting more GG gatherings as time goes along.

    Dinner was at 7 at this French Bistro on University Place near my alma mater. I had mozzarella ravioli with a bonus 1/2 chicken that Jon's girlfriend couldn't finish and offered to me The food was exquisite, if a bit on the pricey side. I wasn't bothered too much; my paycheck may be pathetic, but it's a paycheck.

    Afterwards it was back to Bri's place for a trivia game; I didn't do as well as I did on Chris' trivia game back in June, but it was a lot of fun. After that was the cutting of his delicious chocolate birthday cake, followed by the attendees splitting up to play Apples to Apples and Super Smash Bros Brawl (I was with the latter crowd). Again, there were good times to be had all around. Someone needs to stop me from using Ike and Pikachu; they are not pleasant to fight against (or so my friends complain to me)

    Got home around 1:30am, and now I'm debating whether or not to stay home or go to the beach. The reason I'm debating it is because my mom's giving me grief about the fact that I'm always going out. Y'know last time I checked I was 23 yrs old and mature enough to maintain an active social life. My dad's not too far behind her either. Oh well. These days I'm slowly learning to hold my tongue, maintain my composure and ignore the both of them. It's just that I'm being the bigger person as to avoid a full-blown argument, because as angry as I get it's the last thing I want. I just hope I can continue keeping my cool.

    Everything has it's limits, however.

    A good time was had. It was a much needed break from the usual mundane of my so-called life.

                                                                                                           SEE YOU SPACE COWBOY...