September 26, 2006

  • Equivalent Exchange

    Tomorrow, I embark on a markedly poignant journey through my first real experience with the media industry. And talk about hitting the ground running; it's with Saturday Night Live no less. As I sit here all sorts of weird thoughts are running around in my head. So I figure I'll just get some of them out on here, before tomorrow gets here and I post about the day's events.

    I remember back in high school, I was ready  to  follow the path leading towards becoming a psychologist. I thought it would be the right move for me. But then somewhere along the way I found out that perhaps I should pursue something else (the fact that psych majors have to take science classes pretty much did it for me; while I enjoy and appreciate science I SUCK at it).  So, in a frenzy I  tried to come up with something I could do. Then it became clear: I love television, music and the entertainment industry. So, Communications it is. And so it was. So far I have enjoyed my classes and I truly believe they have shaped the foundations of my perspective with regards to certain aspects of life. But I had no direct media experience. Sure I heard stories, but hearing and experiencing are two completely different things. Now tomorrow, who knows where this will lead? I was told at the interview that the possibilities are infinite; with my experience with music I could end up working in the music production department of NBC (provided they like me enough to hire me  upon graduation). Or, with my writing experience I could be hired as a writer.  Or production assistant. And so on. This is yet another threshold that threatens to completely 180 my life.  And we all know I'm not the biggest fan of change. However, if this change should happen to lead me down the path to true happiness at last, then I welcome it. I anticipate that I will enjoy working there  and have tons of laughs (it's SNL after all, and they did  inform me).  But how this will impact my future career is still unknown, as it should be I suppose.  But I don't think there's anything wrong with wishing for a little
    future sight.

    Also, I realize that I'm making a lot of sacrifices to make this happen. My social life is shot, for once. No more hanging out late on Fridays or Saturdays, and on Sunday all I have to look forward to is two days worth of homework. I will have even less time for anime and games (Philistines!!! ) and there's pretty much no room for any hope of getting into the dating scene (like that was anything to miss in the first place...I am teh l0z3r ). At any rate, this jam-packed schedule will place a huge strain on me, and most likely will cause some kind of depression in the long run, even though I'll end up liking the internship (I'm pessimistic in that respect) but it's nothing I haven't been through before.

    To gain, something of equal value must be lost. Well, I'm not sure if this internship gain is worth the loss of human interaction with my close friends but it sure does follow that acclaimed principle from Full Metal Alchemist. Sometimes though, I feel like I lose more than I gain. I've just had that kind of life. It's bad enough that I'm already a bit of a reserved person but now I'll have to be able to better express myself if I want to survive as a media professional. More and more work on my part. Well, I know that I'm a nice guy and that I try my best to make everyone who knows/associates with me as happy as possible, so hopefully that will work in my favor. Hopefully.

    And I think that's all for now. I'll be updating a lot more often now that I actually have material to work with. Wish me luck everyone, I could use something good to look forward to...

                                                                                                         SEE YOU SPACE COWBOY...